siriidion's 1000th post

• sirilidion
      sirilidion
      Bronze
      I wanted to discuss a topic that I started think about more quite recently for my 1000th post at this forum :) .

The topic is game selection.

I have been playing poker now profitably now for at least 3 years. I mostly been keeping the game I started with when I first joined pokerstrategy namely 9 man's SnG's. recenty I was comparing results for all the different SnG structures and the schedueled tournaments and came to the stunning conclusion that this is not my best game and that I could most likely would get better results focusing on 18 man SnG's, 180 man or schedueled. Although the last 2 the samplesize isn't very big I still think it is big enough to say something if or if not I am winning player in these games. It would have been better for me if I made this comparison sooner to get clearer view which games will most likely give me the best value.

Last I spoke to a friend that told me he was playing if games he didn't really was enjoying and wasn't sure he could make a decent profit out of them but was playing them because they where the only games at that site that he could grind a decent number from to clear the bonus he had at that site and to end as high as possible for him in the rakerace.

Whilst this isn't something bad I think you always should consider taking this aproch will get you the best $/h. I think it is really important to take in to account all the factor to decide which aproch would most likely give you the best $/h you might be better off playing a game where you get a much better roi % on them chasing bonusses.

Factor's that are important are:
      -What is my $/h on average with my current best game ( asuming at least a decent samplesize )
      -what do I earn at my currentsite on bonus, rakeback/vipsystem ( calculated to $/h )
      - how is the traffic at my current site and what for traffic can I expect at the new site