Protecting accounts from an euro collapse

• outspan
      outspan
      Bronze
      I hope this is not too much off topic -- it should be interesting to all Eurozone players.

DISCLAIMER:
      I do not offer financial advice of any kind, I'm not affiliated with any online trading platform, and the opinions expressed here are only my own. Trade at your own risk.

I'm an Italian resident and, seeing how things are going with our economy and the negative outlook of the euro, I've decided to take steps to make sure that a possible dip of the euro doesn't result in a decrease in the buying power of my funds in my poker accounts, which are all in euro.

I've been playing around with forex (foreign exchange) for several years, and if you're in the same situation I am, there's a way to hedge the risk.

Forex is the trading of currency against each other, and you can either BUY (bet on a pair, like USD/GBP, to rise in value, which would mean $$ gains value over ££) or SELL (bet on ££ to rise in value relative to $$). All this is done with financial leverages of up to 400:1, although such high leverages are frowned upon because they're considered way too risky.

What I've done to reduce my exposure to EUR is to SELL EUR/USD with a 50:1 leverage. This way, if EUR lowers in value relative to USD, the funds in my bank decrease in value relative to USD, but the funds in my trading account compensate this exactly. Therefore, my buying power in USD remains the same (except for inflation on USD since the trade started).

I know of a very serious online trading platform, which has low fees and no affiliate program (so I couldn't possibly be making money off recommending it), but I will only name it if the moderators think it is ok for me to do so -- this post already sounds way too much like an infomercial. In any case, the principle is the same.