Starting Hand Chart - Question

• 12 replies
    • gadget51
      gadget51
      Bronze
      Hi WpgJets, good to see you're questioning things. :)

I am not an expert coach but in my opinion it's because suited connectors play better in multiway pots because of the odds of hitting our hand and because it may well be a disguised hand when we do hit.

There is also the problem of raising such a weak hand with somebody already in the pot who may not fold. Hands like this are playable in late positions where we get to see what the others do before we act.

A more in depth response is needed here. Anyone?

Regards,

Mal.
    • ilovemagic
      ilovemagic
      Bronze
      the reason we fold these hands when in the blinds if everyone folds before us, or there was a raise is because we are going to be playing out of position, and getting bad implied odds to hit our hand against any random player. Not to mention the bad odds we already have (2.2 to 1 odds at best if in a HU pot) to hit our flush or straight or any 2 pair/trips hands as well. So if we only hit a flush or straight 17% of the time, then calling 2 to 1 odds is a bad idea in the long run because we will lose the hand or not get paid when we hit more often then we will.

The reason why we raise in late position if everyone else folds behind us is because we have a chance of winning the pot before the flop, less of a chance of getting 3-bet out of the pot with less players to act in front of us, and we are playing the hand in position most often. This means we can hit and win a big pot, or win on the flop more often than not with a standard C-bet. If we miss and our opponent donk bets into us, we can fold rather cheaply without investing any more into the hand. We can also check behind our opponents for a cheap draw if he likes to commonly check raise a lot of flops.