From Freerolls to Fortune

• Calcul0n
      Calcul0n
      Bronze
      Hey all! Names Dave, I'm from near Vancouver, Canada and I'm fairly new to online poker. Decided i would start a poker blog to track my progress, mistakes, etc.

i initially ran the $50 up to $150, but squandered it quickly on a couple bad beats and tilt in one session. Now, i've started playing freerolls while i save up to make a nice deposit. due to the volume i'm playing (5-10 a day) and the consistency, i've been in the money 3 times this week (Pitiful total of around 12 bucks), with a final table twice, so i'm considering going full on into MTT's instead of playing cash when i make my deposit.

i realize freerolls are derp and there isn't much competition, but the main thing is i'm learning the odds, hands, and basic strategies of MTT play, and i enjoy the style. my friends have been having some success in cash games, and i will play it as well, but i'm shooting for moderate buyin MTT player with final table success.

So without further adieu, i will begin updating my progress and sharing interesting hands soon!

Also thanks to all the posters here, and as well to the skype group i joined yesterday! PokerStrategy has a wicked community!
  • 17 replies
    • EagleStar88
      EagleStar88
      Bronze
      Hi Dave,

Good luck with your blog & challenge, will follow with interest.

Where are you playing at the moment? Just one site or across many different?

Freerolls are a great way to get back a grindable BR, be that on the cash tables or indeed in sng's/mtt's.

The Facebook (free & $0.10) league mtt's on PokerStars are big (number of entries)/long tourneys but certainly grindable.