This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

Wannabe bad man blog

• sucker1952
      sucker1952
      Bronze
      Hey Y'all

I have been studying poker for around 2 months now as i was a losing player for years.

I have been reading peoples posts and blogs and thought i would write my own so i could put my thought process out there and get some feedback and ideas if not i get to rant a bit and it saves the missus from hearing any of it as she hates poker, but i hate her shitty tv programs so i guess we both put up with it...(especially 16 and pregnant- so shit :)

I have recently finished busting my ass at $nl10 and have just started on nl25...my roll is currently $1k after winning $35 today in 200 hands.

My thoughts on the limit so far is that players tend to be a little tighter and more aggro pre-flop (3 betting, 4 betting, shoving etc)

I have found it easier to apply ranges to players and situations.

I am really trying to practice the range part of my game as it is clearly so important.

I will start by posting a couple of hands that i had trouble with and see if it makes sense to any of you?
  • 4 replies
    • sucker1952
      sucker1952
      Bronze
      $25 USD NL Texas Hold'em - Wednesday, December 28, 10:10:59 EST 2011

player is a 26/19 agg factor 5 ( i had 3 bet him a few times and just won a pot. he was raising in the region of 30% of his range on the button so rather than 3 bet again i thought i would flat and let him bluff a bit

Seat 6: VictimBlom BTN ( $26.36 USD )
      Seat 2: HERO BB( $63.72 USD )

Hero dealt 99

VictimBlom raises [$0.75 USD]
      hero calls [$0.65 USD]

KonVoy folds
      ** Dealing Flop ** [ 4h, Ac, 3d ]
      hero checks
      VictimBlom bets [$1.25 USD]

hero raises [$2.75 USD]
      VictimBlom calls [$1.50 USD]
      ** Dealing Turn ** [ Jh ]