My First Graph! (hopefully not last...)

• MoneyDearest
      Hey Everyone!

Today is my first day posting on the boards, and I'm thinking I'd love to seriously take up poker and share my experiences with you from complete beginner until your saying "Hey, I remember that guy as a beginner on!!" :D !

Before I do, and introduce myself propperly, I was wondering if I could get a little feed back on my first 700 hands, so my $50 can even last long enough for me to make a blog ;) ! (Wasn't sure if this should be in the beginners section or somewhere, apoz if out-of-place.)

My main question is this, for the last 300 hands at least, my non-showdown winnings have been pretty steady. This is why I sometimes feel like a poker god :tongue: !

However, I've noticed I'm loosing big on show-down, and have a complementary negative ev curve. I have a feeling this is bad :P !

So, 1) Could someone please explain to me in a little more detail what this curve means, and how I should interpret it propperly? (or point me in the write direction. I read the equity article, but think I haven't really fully mastered the concept.)

and 2) Are there any super-duper-obvious conclusions you can make from this starting graph of a beginning player?

I hope to share more soon, as long as I don't go bust in the mean-time ;-)!

• 10 replies
    • conall88
      at beginning I would recommend playing tighter. your non show down winnings are derived from making people fold. It seems you are making people fold too often when you are ahead, and not folding enough when you are behind.

The logical move would be to play less marginal hands when you are not in position, and also be very picky about your hand selection and continuation betting when you are in the first 3 positions on the table.

This by itself should help a great deal.
    • MoneyDearest
      That sounds like a great start, thanks a million :D ! I'll let you know how I go...

• Kruppe