aclark's learning log!

• aclark
      Hello everybody!

I'm relatively new to poker, having only played fun games with friends. However, I've always played a bunch of computer games and took part in the esports industry and some of the best players of all time have gone on to be professional poker players. I decided I'd give it ago and see what the parallels are (there has to be something in it!)

Whilst making money is always nice, my main aim at the minute is to simply have fun. However, I am taking this seriously and should I get to grips with it I could well attempt to make a career from this.

Wish me the best of luck guys/girls.

HOMEWORK - Lesson 1

Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker?
      As an e-sports reporter my initial motivation for playing Poker was to see what the link is between esports and poker. Several of esports best competitors have gone on to become professional poker players and there has to be a reason for that.

However, this is not my only motivation. To be frank, money is a serious motivator. Finding work in the world's current climate is becoming harder and harder so instead of playing video games, I've decided to invest a lot of time into a game that could well pay the bills.

I'm currently concentrating on having fun, as the initial learning phase can be the hardest I figured I need to concentrate on making it fun and not on making dollars. However, I am taking this seriously and would very much like to compete in WSOP or some other serious Poker tour several years from now (I figure that is a reasonable time-scale?)

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker?
      I've not yet played an awful lot of Poker, I lost all of my initial $10 in a single day! This was in part because I was just excited and wanted to play and experiment - it wont happen next time, believe me!

Some of the biggest issues I've noticed so far are: