Climbing the Limits

• tdust89
      tdust89
      Bronze
      Hi all,

My name is Travis and I am currently finishing my last semester at the University of Waterloo where I am studying Mathematics and Computer Science. I have been playing poker on and off since about the time I started University (about 4 1/2 years ago). Over the Christmas holidays I found Poker Strategy and decided that I wanted to take poker a little more seriously and in the last month I have competed in 160 SNGs (where I have done fairly well) and played 8k hands of FL (where I have not done well).

The purpose of this blog is to keep track of my progress as I move up through the limits and to set goals to motivate myself to improve my game so without further ado here are my starting goals.

I will be mainly be playing 3.50 SNGs and .25/.50 FL at PokerStars. In addition I intend to play the Big $2.20 3 or 4 times a week.

Goals for the rest of January

[ ] Reach Gold Status on Poker Strategy (I noticed today that I am less than 50 points away so it would be a shame if I was that close but didn't make it)

Goals for Feburary
      [X] Maintain Gold Status at Poker Strategy (assuming I get it)
      [ ] Read all of the Fixed Limit, SNG, and MTT gold article
      [ ] Achieve SilverStar VIP status at PokerStars
      [ ] Add 1 table per week (I currently play with 4 tables)
  • 5 replies
    • inlovewithamsterdam
      inlovewithamsterdam
      Bronze
      most interesting, fixed limit not often seen as one's default game! keep to your goals, maintain that mindset and you're certain to succeed.

grind away! today's the 31st (it's past 12am) and thus your last chance to get enough points for Gold. I'm pursuing gold myself atm but I don't think I'll manage to grind enough points out on this last day.

best of luck.
      Matt