Studying poker : playing poker = 1 : x ?

• 18 replies
    • verneer
      verneer
      Bronze
      Originally posted by Avatars91
      How much time should one dedicate to studying his game in relation to how much he is playing? Is it healthy for one's poker career to study considerably more than playing?
      Your ratio should not be constant. The more confident you are at the tables, the more that ratio should shift towards playing. The less confident (for example - you just moved up to a new limit and have limited reads on the regulars) you are, the more you should devote to studying.

For me, the pattern has been:

Lowest limit that I beat: 80-90% play, 10-20% study.
      Move up: 60% study, 40% play. As I start developing reads, this goes to 20-30% study and 70-80% play.
      Repeat.

The higher I play, the bigger % of the time I'm studying because the edges are smaller and thus my A-game, B-game, and C-game all have to be much better.
    • Alllex1703
      Alllex1703
      Bronze
      I would say, that it depends on you..

I myself like to have a ratio of about 3:1 (playing : study)
      but then again i mostly only do reviews on my hands and organise the player notes and stuff. On top of that i try to dedicate at least an hour a day and watch viedeos/read articles or watch some of the coachings ps offers..:)

i guess if i would find any major leaks in my game i would drop down to 2:1 till i fix them.
      but i think that if u are at the early phase of still learning the different concepts or things like calculating odds and stuff than i would def study a bit more than playing.

but as i said i think it depends on you. if u would rather aproach it in a learning by doing way than i would say play more than what you study. or you could read a ton of material first and realy get the basics in and than "test" your skills at the tables..

hope my answer helped a bit.. :)

Alex
      Bronze
      Sounds fair enough.