This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

I'd rather study than play

• matel17
      matel17
      Bronze
      Last month I started playing HUsngs mixing $5.50s and $3.30s. Had to move down to just $3.30s cos I decided to have stricter BRM.

Now in these last days I have had more motivation to study poker then to actually play. I look forward to reading or watching a video but I'm dreading the moment when it's time to open a few tables. I'm scared more of this will happen:

I know it's not much and I'm not new to these types of graphs but it's making me sick. I appreciate any advice or ideas.
  • 7 replies
    • DukeXIII
      DukeXIII
      Bronze
      Jared Tedler The Mental Game of Poker :)

You ll need to put a lot of work of course not just read it but I think he is the best to help with any kind of problem has to do with the mental game

It s all about programming your mind. Or like training a dog
    • Ohs
      Ohs
      Bronze
      Have you seen TwiceT's HU sng series? I would highly recommend it to you if you already didn't.
    • TakeManies
      TakeManies
      Bronze
      I'm the same at the moment so I don't open it up, no point playing if your mind isn't in a good place. I've got Jared's book so I'll report back to you if that helps. Good luck!
    • deezer79
      deezer79
      Bronze
      I'm liking Jared's book but the thing really does need a lot of study. The improvement will take time, especially when it comes to the accumulating anxiety that builds when you're running bad. I certainly play a lot less than I used to.
      Have decided to make a new start at another site and study a lot. Been unable to access the strategy guides available here so am looking forward to getting into it.