[NL2-NL10] AJo UTG trying to catch maniac fish

• RobertDaPro
      RobertDaPro
      Bronze
      Hi there,

As i am only learning the ropes in cash game i would like one of my hands evaluated:

PokerStars - $0.10 NL (9 max) - Holdem - 9 players
      Hand converted by PokerTracker 3

Mario2683 (CO): $23.63
      teholdway (BTN): $9.95
      aaadventure (SB): $10.00
      oozywaters (BB): $20.55
      RobertDaPro (UTG): $26.02
      Helbad (UTG+1): $10.00
      KaosLi (MP): $13.67
      Lardedarde (MP+1): $13.57
      xxswipesxx (LP): $10.30

aaadventure posts SB $0.05, oozywaters posts BB $0.10

Pre Flop: ($0.15) RobertDaPro has A:spade: J:club:

RobertDaPro calls $0.10, fold, KaosLi raises to $0.30, fold, fold, Mario2683 calls $0.30, fold, fold, oozywaters calls $0.20, RobertDaPro calls $0.20

Flop: ($1.25, 4 players) A:heart: 7:diamond: 5:spade:
      oozywaters checks, RobertDaPro bets $1.00, KaosLi calls $1.00, fold, fold

Turn: ($3.25, 2 players) 3:club:
      RobertDaPro bets $2.32, KaosLi calls $2.32

River: ($7.89, 2 players) 8:diamond:
      RobertDaPro bets $3.76, KaosLi raises to $10.05 and is all-in, fold

KaosLi wins $14.72

I know that limping AJo from UTG is terrible play, but there is guy called "oozywaters" in BB and he was maniac fish who raised 35%+ pre with any kind of hands x 10BB and i wanted to see if i get him in the pot. and AJo against him would be way ahead.

To my surprise he did not try some fancy bluff moves there and i found my self in battle with another guy instead. I wonder if my play exept limp was ok? should be good fold also? or could he been bluff raising river there? not many hands i can beat.

Check / Call on river if he bets small to look him up?

General opinions welcomed
  • 3 replies
    • veriz
      veriz
      Black
      Hello RobertDaPro,