Variance PLO?

• XandreW36
      XandreW36
      Platinum
      How likely is to have 20 buy ins losing day on PLO10 (3 sessions, ~2k hands)? Thing is, I'm table selecting all the time and playing 4-6 tables but mostly 4. I'm pretty new to omaha but had played about 8k hands on PLO2 and ~ 15k on PLO5 where I had a very good win rates...
      Ofc I didn't played perfectly but I just felt there is no flop out for me...

Appreciate any input.
  • 3 replies
    • MatejM47
      MatejM47
      Black
      I think its highly unlikely on NL10. Most of the PLO variance comes from agressive play on higher stakes where a lot of preflop 3/4betting is going on and then postflop bluffraising and light stackoffs.

But on nl10 the game plays pretty passive so variance really isn't that bad. Most people are just nutpaddling and calling and don't get agressive untill they have the nuts so its a fairly easy game and your edge should be really high so a 20BI downswing is quite unlikely.
    • Kyyberi
      Kyyberi
      Coach
      Coach
      Those who say that PLO doesn't have huge swings in micros haven't played them. :)

Yesterday I played a small session, and lost 18bin. Last 100 hands of the session I run 10bin under EV. Sometimes it just happens. Either you lose all the flips and flops, or you get sucked out before the money goes in (like you 4bet aces and get 75% of your stack in, guy calls with a pair and hits a set).

You can reduce variance by not 3betting and sort of nutpeddling (small ball until you hit), but on the other hand that might not be the way to maximize your EV.

Things that increase your variance:

- High VPIP (you will hit marginal draws and made hands a lot)
      - 3 betting a lot (when you start to 3bet, your variance is a LOT higher than without 3betting)