advice on moving from FR to SH

• DrDunne
      DrDunne
      Bronze
      hi guys i need some advice on moving from FR to SH..

i started playing on nl2 FR, made my way to nl10 fr but had to cash out and avoid poker for a few months. anyways, im getting back to poker now and i feel like giving SH a shot because FR is such a bore playing like a nit.

i wanted to wait until at least nl25 to move to SH so that i could prove to myself that i can play FR.. but i feel like changing now. i want some opinions on whether or not i should bother making the switch. i'm not amazing at poker but i have moved from $20 to $250 playing FR. is it worth switching, and will it improve my game?
  • 7 replies
    • Wurble
      Wurble
      Silver
      I would say don't move just because it's what other people tend to do. I did this and got stung badly first time round as I loosened up too much and for some reason went hyper aggro after playing super nitty at FR.

With regard to adjustments, start at a limit you have 50 stacks for and play pretty much as you would in a FR game but without the first 3 positions. I don't know how loose you are on the button in FR but in SH you should open at least 30% of hands, more like 50% if the blinds are tight.

I don't know how 'ABC' your game is at FR but in SH games you can't just wait for the nuts to get your money in. You'll need to value bet much more of your range as the post flop play is generally looser in SH games.

Also, imo blind defense becomes a much bigger issue as they come round so much quicker. Start thinking about how you should play oop and what hands you will 3bet with pre flop when the CO or BU have attempted a steal. There is a good article on this I think in the silver strategy section that you can read once you've played some hands.
    • esuohdla
      esuohdla
      Bronze