Hyper turbo vs Fifty50

• Styr
      Styr
      Silver
      First of all, I have been playing poker for more than five years. The first studying years wen poorly, as expected, but I have recuperated most of my losses since then. Now I actually believe to be an above average player - my live tournament results can back this up. Yet, Pokerstars does not seem to reinforce that.

All I have tried to do, is to find a poker game:
      1 - I can beat.
      2 - With the lowest possible variance.
      3 - That does not last for too long.
      4 - That are actually filling up, and are high in traffic.
      5 - That allow me to move up in limits once I master one limit and have the bankroll to do so.

Thus far the only games I have been winning are the 6max and 9max hyper turbo SNG'es. Thus I have managed to accomplish points one, three, and four. A few weeks ago I got to number five too, when Pokerstars introduced hyper turboes with a wider level of buy-ins. Obvioulsy goal number two is out of question as far as Hyper Turbo'es are concerned.

I then thought that Fifty50es should be quite good variance-vise, but there must either be a huge leaks somewhere in my game, or they are just impossible to beat. And I mean IMPOSSIBLE.

Here are two graphs. The first two for $7 and $30 Hyper Turboes respectively, and the third one for $15 Fifty50es.

For me this does not make sense whatsoever. The cap between the EV and actual outcome is huge.

• 9 replies
    • Wurble
      Wurble
      Silver
      There are people winning over large samples of Fifty50's.... Sharkscope leaderboards can prove this but meh, I hate them and broke even over 600 of them at the start of January.