• jleonra
      Hello, my name is Juan and I'm from México City :D and I'm 27, I started playing card games in high school, mainly with the spanish deck, then at collegue some students organized a poker tournament, that was the first time i heard of Hold'em, i didn't take part in it though.

Later that year (2005) I was going through the tv chanels when i stumble upon a tv show called Celebrity Poker Showdown, found it quite enterteining despite the fact that my first thought was to change the chanel once more, because "how fun could it be to watch some dudes playing poker". I followed the show from then on.

Anyway, i still didnt started playing Hold'em for a couple of years mainly because there was none to play with :P until some guys on the forum of a football manager game talked about playing poker online and compare their results and trash talk to one another. Thats when i first made an account in pokerstars, and starting playing online, usually just freerolls everyday, after some time of not winning anything xD I moved on to concentrate on my career and just playing once in a while.

Then at the end of last year trying to look for the first episodes of celebrity poker showdown which i never got to see, another fortunate discovery, in the related videos there were some videos of another tv show called High Stakes Poker, the full 42min episodes were there and it completely changed my perception of poker. I didn't know poker where this big. Then looking for the background of some of the players i kept discoverying things like WSOP, WPT, more tv shows, black fraiday, online poker players winning millions, etc.