i miss online poker

• danhyoo
      danhyoo
      Basic
      Hey guys,

Just one of the millions of US players that was devastated by the indictment. Just a small background of myself, I graduated from Carnegie Mellon in 2009 and decided to make a bold move, to become an online poker professional. I received multiple job offers from insurance and trading firms but my true passion lied in poker. So, I decided to commit at least a year as a poker professional. I lived, slept, and ate poker. After every session, I would use HEM to find any patches or mistakes, whether it was a 5bb or a 200bb pot. I quickly climbed up the ladder stakes and was one of the top HUsng players on the Cereus network. Right before Black Friday, I was averaging a 5-6%ROI at the stakes between $50-$250 hyper turbos. I was making anywhere between $5000-$10000 a month with rakeback and never had a losing month in 2010 and 2011. I was on a heater and was preparing myself to take some shots at $500+ stakes. Then, BAM, my job and a HUGE portion of my money was gone... just like that and there was nothing I could do. Since, then I've played about 30 tournaments in Atlantic City, accumulated $30,000 in winnings, but it just wasn't the same as online poker. I was pretty burnt out from all the driving, the lack of healthy food and exercise, and the sick variance. The sickest hand I endured was day 2 of the Borgata WPT $3500. I'm 10 places away from the bubble and I look down at JJ with about 35BB. I raise on the button and the bigblind who had me covered snap shoves. I tank only because so much is on the line and I knew from there I should not have entered this tournament if I'm not snap calling a 35bb call on the button against a 3bet shove from the bb. So I eventually call and I see myself up against AK. the door card J! 4 Q. Turn 10... completes his straight, and I miss the river.