Psychological research: main topic

• MasterAZ
      MasterAZ
      Bronze
      Hello, everyone!

First of all, let me introduce myself. :)
      My name's Alexey, (or Alex), and I'm from Russian community, where I work as SSS hand judge and news translator. Also it's worth mentioning that I study social psychology and specialize in cross-cultural psychology.
      And I've come here to ask members of English community for some help with my research. :)

There's an incredible amount of data on tecnical side of poker: odds and outs, continuation bets, and so on, and so forth. So it's quite easy to say what's the difference between a complete novice and a successful professional poker player: in general, a novice doesn't know anything about odds or outs or smth like that, and a professional knows all that. Also, a professional's a lot more likely to use special software like Hold'em Manager, PokerTracker, PokerStrategy.com Equilab, StoxEV and et cetera.

However, it's unclear if there's any difference in some psychological aspects of poker. A professional poker player may have quite different perception of some situations and make really different decisions. So, my research is an attempt to discover some possible factors that differ successful players and amateurs. :s_cool:

To be short, it's a cross-cultural psychological research, based on some judgment and decision making tasks, and I have two main goals:
      - Test if there's any significant difference between professionals and amateurs;
      - Test if there's any significant difference between players from different cultures.

Why participate?
      Well, first of all, you'll help me, you'll help science in general. And, if we're lucky,in the end it'll lead to some interesting results that may help you improve your own game.
      Secondly, it's fun. :D . Also, it won't take much time, nearly 20 mins or so.

Finally, when I'll finish this research, there'll be a small lottery.