Is online poker rigged? (A look at bank roll management)

• Thebridgedoc
      Thebridgedoc
      Bronze
      So, I'm not really a blog writer as such. I've really barely written anything on the subject of poker. This is my first time and so we'll break new ground together. I hope, though, that you agree with my musings here.

I best address the question in the title first. No, I don't think online poker is rigged. I don't have any proof as such that can deal with the thousands of conspiracy theories out there but the statistics seem to back up the fact. According to poker tracker, I've been dealt pocket aces about as many times as I can expect to and they seem to win, from an all in pre-flop, about as many times as they should.

I mean I have seen bad beats - we all have - but what really intrigued me was: I seemed to perform far better at poker when I was playing within my bankroll. I've lost my bankroll a couple of times (never ghastly sums but not amounts I need to discuss) and it always seems to happen when I don't follow bank roll management rules.

"HANG ON!" I hear you cry. "So far you've said nothing that I couldn't read in countless other articles."

So I'll make a hypothesis for you:
      Poker only appears rigged when following bad bankroll management.

I'd be interested to see whether you agree or disagree but I believe there are a couple of reasons that this is backed up.

1) The obvious; Variance

So I have a $100 bankroll and enter 2 tournaments for a $50 buy-in
      In the first one I run well until the later stages I push with Aces and someone else pushes with Jacks - He catches a set and I am busted out.
      In the second - I get aces again and once again get it all in pre-flop: this time I go bust against KQ suited that manages a flush.