Termi8r

• Termi8r
      Termi8r
      Bronze
      Hi there,

I started playing poker in 2007. Initially just donking around various poker clients until I discovered PokerStrategy.com were I started playing SSS. I played semi-successfully up until NL50 or so but did my life on NL100.

I then switched to full-ring and later played mostly 6-max up to a breakeven (rakeback pro) level on NL50. In addition I ventured into live poker and had a successfull run and ended up an overall winner.

In and around 2010 my studies started to consume/demand most of my time and I decided to quit poker roughly about 14 times over a two year stretch. I finally managed to escape from my PhD degree in 2011.

Now to the future...I decide to join the NL beginner forum to systematically build a solid poker knowledge foundation. It is so easy to delude yourself and think you are a good player when in fact you suck. Blaming break-even poker on bad run is just lame.

So I deposited $200 in PokerStars and managed to grind it up $310 playing Nl5 zoom poker and this is were I stand. I hope to climb the limits and work consistantly on my game in order to improve.

Cheers
  • 11 replies
    • Termi8r
      Termi8r
      Bronze
      Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker?

I don't really know exactly why I play. I love to compete and see it as a challenge I guess at the moment. Maybe if I get play well enough in the future I'll be able to make some extra money.

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker?

I guess all the types of tilt Jared Tendler speaks about is applicable to me. I would add another type of tilt called "Internet Tilt" to that list. That's when the internet is slow and disconnecting all the time. Sends me over the edge!

Another weakness is calling big bets on the river with one-paired hands. I might catch some bluffs but usually burns me money.

Slow playing / trapping too much and losing value or getting sucked out.