SpreeXXL's story

• SpreeXXL
      SpreeXXL
      Bronze
      Hello,

I started to play poker almost 6-7 months ago when i was an exchange student in Russia. I played with fellow foreigns from Dutch, Germany, Finland, USA and sometimes even guys from Kazakstan. Well the Kazakstans did not know anything about Texas Hold'em. They had always played 5 card poker with jokers (i am not sure if anyone of you know this type :P ). Well we managed to teach them the REAL game but they still sucked and we did not want to play with them anymore because it was boring. So we started to play with an American who was a little scum bag. At first he lied to us that he had never played poker before but after he shuffeled the cards it was abvious that he had played before. Mainly we played tournaments and couple of times i managed to win it. So now you know where i got the "taste" of poker. But i did not take it very seriously. Once when i visited my friends in Estonia they invited me into a home cash game and i won a little. After that i started to read about poker from the internet and i even bought 2 books from eBay. Harrington on Hold'em: Volume I: Strategic Play and Phil Gordon's Little Blue Book. Well the last one arrived earlier and i have to admit it was NOT a good book. I am not an expert but i would say that the man is gambling too much with some hands. Dan Harrington's style or the style he is writing about suites me more. I liked the book and would recommend to ready it.

Back to my life. Almost at the same time when i bought the books i found PokerStrategy.com. I joined the site and received the starting capital. I read the NL SSS strategies and took it very seriously. Thank's to the site i was able to make the differnce between good, bad and decent hands.