VPIP, ROI and EV

• 107e5
      107e5
      Basic
      Hello, my name is Nick and I have recently started playing poker again. I used to play recreationally last year on betfair and made a profit of a bit more than $500 playing $3.30 and $5.50 regular SnG tournaments.

I started playing again more seriously again. Therefore I invested some money on the new HM2 software as well as trying to improve my game as much as I can.

I also switched from regular tournaments to turbos and introduced multitabling regularly, usually bettween 4 and 6 tables.

Even though I feel I have improoved a lot in the last couple of months I feel I can do much better and get even better at Turbos.

Right now I am playing $1.20 Turbo SnGs regularly in order to get accustome to the changes from regular to turbo before moving to higher stakes. I still manage to get a ROI of 21.3%.

I have a couple of questions which I couldnt manage to find an answer to so far so I thought to post them here. First of all on my HUD when I play I included the % a player limps but not the VPIP. So I a player limps on the cutoff with a 70% limp rate and I am on the BB I would most definetely push with a wide range. I am not sure whether this is correct or not even though its working so far.

Secondly, I sometimes blend some $3.30 Turbos SnGs along with my regular $1.20 in my game. I have a negative ROI on those and that is perfectly fine for now but here is the bit that confuses me.

Even though I show a profit in $1.20 SnGs and a ROI of 21.3 I have a negative $EV of -59.14, and on the $3.30 SnGs I have a negative ROI but a positive $EV of 14.72. It doesnt make any sense to me right now.

If somebody could clarify and explain these two things it would be great.

Regards,

Nick
  • 5 replies
    • evertonroar
      evertonroar
      Bronze