What to think...?

• Xeonz123
      Xeonz123
      Bronze
      I've been playing poker for about Seven-Eight months now, I started as a losing playing to a winning playing in Nl2 and Nl5, Then went on to SNGS where i've been winning . I've been playing tournements on and off not seriously just for fun while i grind other things. I recently entered a 4 Dollar tournement today and ended up in the FINAL table what to me was huge, I was the chip leader to a 2:1 Ratio on all the other players. WE got down to Five players left and the stacks were the same, I still in a commanding lead. We played 50 more hands and suddenly i've lost 5 flips and Was out of the tournement for 200 Dollars... Should I be pleased? Discouraged?
  • 7 replies
    • conall88
      conall88
      Bronze
      you should consider it as statistically insignificant. Poker is a game of longterm. You will understand this eventually. Just keep playing :)
    • DailyDollarPro
      DailyDollarPro
      Silver
      Imagine if when you first registered for that $4 tourney, a poker fairy magically appeared and said 'Congratulations, your going to win $200 today!', you'd most likely be quite pleased about that.

Don't worry about the fact that you got unlucky towards the end and missed out on the bigger prizes. Consider that you most likely had a number of instances of good luck that allowed you to make the final table in the first place. Maybe you were seated at one of the softer tables at the start. Perhaps you got KK dealt to you when the other big stack got QQ. Possibly a weak player called off his whole stack to your big raise in a spot where most would simply have folded. Another player could have tilt shoved his 72 into your AA...