This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

[NL2-NL10] KQs in SB

    • Aingles
      Aingles
      Bronze
      Joined: 27.01.2012 Posts: 90
      Hi there guys , a while ago a lost quite a bit of cash with this hand , and I would like you guys to help me out and give your opinions on if I played this hand the correct way .


      Hand converted with online PokerStrategy.com hand converter:

      Play hand

      $0.01/$0.02 No-Limit Hold'em (8 handed)

      Known players:
      BU:
      $1.47
      SB (Hero):
      $0.78
      BB:
      $0.66
      UTG2:
      $0.76
      MP1:
      $0.78
      MP2:
      $2.05
      MP3:
      $5.62
      CO:
      $1.30


      Preflop: Hero is SB with Q, K.
      UTG2 calls $0.02, 4 folds, BU calls $0.02, Hero raises to $0.10, BB folds, UTG2 calls $0.08, BU folds.

      Flop: ($0.24) 7, 9, 3 (2 players)
      Hero bets $0.16, UTG2 calls $0.16.

      Turn: ($0.56) 8 (2 players)
      Hero checks, UTG2 bets $0.24, Hero calls $0.24.

      River: ($1.04) Q (2 players)
      Hero bets $0.28, UTG2 calls $0.26(All-In).

      Final Pot: $1.58.
  • 5 replies
    • veriz
      veriz
      Black
      Joined: 20.07.2008 Posts: 65,504
      < Moved your Hand to SSS/MSS hand evaluation forum >
    • Gerv
      Gerv
      Bronze
      Joined: 07.05.2008 Posts: 17,678
      Originally posted by veriz
      < Moved your Hand to SSS/MSS hand evaluation forum >
      Thanks :)

      Hi Aingles,

      I prefer betting the Turn myself if we were to continue in this hand. The reason is that a second barrel gives us another stream of income namely the chance your opponent is folding on your bet. Check/calling is essentially the same thing without this folding

      That said I prefer to bet myself on the Turn which is an all-in :)
      Best regards,
      Gerv
    • Aingles
      Aingles
      Bronze
      Joined: 27.01.2012 Posts: 90
      Before anything, let me thank reriz for moving my thread to the right sub-forum.

      As for the hand , I would just like to make a question . On the turn I have 2 overcards and a flushdraw . Is this enough to fire another barrel , as the 8 on the turn could have completed a possible straight ? Also the MSS Basic Charts says that I should check/fold flushdraws and overcards on the turn .
    • Gerv
      Gerv
      Bronze
      Joined: 07.05.2008 Posts: 17,678
      Hey,

      Please click the Button ''Let the Judge look again at this thread :) ''

      You have a qualified combo draw on the Turn, furthermore what straight hit here? Would JT call the Flop as easy as 65 or T6? Not many straights hit in my opinion therefore I shove the Turn

      Best regards,
      Gerv
    • Aingles
      Aingles
      Bronze
      Joined: 27.01.2012 Posts: 90
      The villian played in quite fishy way, I had seemed him play any 2 cards and in this actual hand had T6 . Thanks for your help and I will certainly take this into account .