6max or fullring?

• 11 replies
    • qMantas
      qMantas
      Bronze
      If you are beginner I would recommend to start playing FR. Because it's easier. When you get used to FR games you can start mixing some SH tables. I think SH is more fishier because fish likes action. GL.
    • noz03
      noz03
      Bronze
      If 6max is fishier why is FR easier?
    • mrbeer9999
      mrbeer9999
      Basic
      You can play very basic TAG at 2NL FR and people play back at you less. This makes it easier when you are a complete beginner. In 2NL 6-max people pull more crap on you and there are more maniacs, who are more profitable than loose-passive types but harder to deal with as a beginner.
    • ExternalUseOnly
      ExternalUseOnly
      Bronze
      Hey guys,

Full Ring is "easier" because the decisions you have to make are kept relatively simple at the micros. You will find yourself clicking the fold button A LOT waiting for premium hands. When you are only playing the top hands the decisions become easier because you don't get yourself into as many tricky marginal spots.

Once you start playing 6max the blinds come around a lot quicker and start eating away at you so you open your ranges a bit and get yourself involved in a lot more action.

I wouldn't recommend mixing Full Ring and Short handed tables though because they are very different and i imagine it would be pretty tricky to play your A game on both at the same time.

Regards
      Carl
    • kruger32
      kruger32
      Bronze
      Originally posted by noz03
      If 6max is fishier why is FR easier?
      6max is fishier precisely because it is more difficult. Beginners can play FR OK but have difficulties in 6max and keep spewing out money. 6max requires looser pre-flop play which you have to compensate with shrewd post flop play.
      Fishes playing loose pre flop + Bad post flolp = $$$

As a beginner stick to FR until you can play post flop very well and also have discipline.
      Good Luck!