hold 'em Software

• northernplan
      northernplan
      Bronze
      Hi Guys, although I have partaken in poker for a while I would say I am a beginner starting to learn.

I see that various pieces of software are available and recommended. my question is Is thesoftware beneficial to new players or would you recommend just concentrating on the basics and developing strategy.

If the answer is it isbeneficial which one would you recommend. I have read reviews and they all seem to offer different things which makes it difficult for new players to make the right decision and not waste their money.

N.
  • 2 replies
    • TiciBoy
      TiciBoy
      Bronze
      Well, some sort of tracker is a must if you are serious.

Holdem Manager 2 (you can't get 1 any more), PokerTracker 3&4, PS Elephant...
    • EuanM
      EuanM
      Bronze
      Hey northernplan,

Thanks for your post

Tracking software is more or less essential for anyone who wants to take their game seriously, and as you may know, up until recently - PokerStrategy.com offered a free tracking software called "Elephant", this has now been discontinued with the launch of Hold 'em Manager 2

You can get the small stakes version of Hold 'em Manger 2 for $59.99 at the moment.

As an entry level player, studying the basics and developing your standard game which you take to the tables will get you relatively far into the micro-stakes, but there does come a point where to effectively tackle any leaks you may have, tracking software facilitates this beautifully.

Before you decide if you want to buy some software, I recommend checking out the Videos our community has produced, which showcase Hold 'em Manager 2, and how it benefits users in the form of database reviews:

Eight Videos to get started with

Also we have the very amazing database doctor, "BogdanPS", who accepts submissions of users databases for the purposes of review.