William340

• William340
      William340
      Bronze
      hello!
      I've been attending the beginner's coachings w/ Veriz for a few weeks now, but never started my thread.

I am a "recreational" player looking to improve. I've already learned quite a bit from the coachings and the hand evaluations.

now I have a place to post homework, etc.

this also motivated me to (finally) start my blog.
  • 10 replies
    • William340
      William340
      Bronze
      so, on to the first homework:
      Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker?
      Well, I guess I would have to say "to make money", but realistically, it's more for entertainment or as an intellectual exercise. The chances of me making an "real" money are pretty small at this point.

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker?
      I am not good at reading hands, and I end up in difficult spots.
      So I feel like I pay off sets too often when I have strong top pair or (more often) overpairs to the board. But I am also afraid that if I am willing to lay down KK to a lot of flop action on a J72r board, I will end up seeing the villain had QQ or AJ.
      I have problems w/ betsizing that I am working on, and my 3B percentage is ridiculously low. (1.4% !!)

Question 3: What does it mean to play tight aggressive?
      TAG's play a relatively small percentage of hands (say 18% or less vpip in a FR game) but they tend to play them strongly (pfr is 75% or greater of the vpip, so say 18/15 or 16/12).
      They would be positionally aware, so they might only be 8/8 in EP and 33/27 on the BTN, with the numbers for the seats in between rising steadily.
      They likely have 3B and squeeze numbers around 5 or 6%.
      Postflop they are much more likely to be betting & raising instead of checking & calling, and they will check-raise.