Strategy or No Strategy?

• northernplan
      northernplan
      Bronze
      I am relatively new to playing poker for real money. I love the strategy and psychology and have been studying mainly from books. What I am struggling with is when you play a hand eg pocket aces and follow a strategy to the letter. Then you lose to someone with a hand that the books say the books say no one in their right mind would play and would have folded pre flop. The win is completely against the odds.

Is this something that with time you will profit from in the long term due to the odds?

Is this something that happens in the micro/small stake game due to what is a large raise in these games doesn't mean as much in monetary terms to as many people?

I started with micro/small stakes to practice and learn and techniques. Is this the best place to do this?

I hope this makes sense.

Nic
  • 8 replies
    • ragney
      ragney
      Bronze
      Is this something that with time you will profit from in the long term due to the odds?

Is this something that happens in the micro/small stake game due to what is a large raise in these games doesn't mean as much in monetary terms to as many people?

I started with micro/small stakes to practice and learn and techniques. Is this the best place to do this?
      Pretty much yes 3x :)

Small stakes is the best place to learn, you experience how real money poker works along variance and other mindset stuffs etc. You also develop your poker skills.
    • DailyDollarPro
      DailyDollarPro
      Bronze
      Yes, quite often, even if you play a hand 'perfectly' you will still lose.

The aim is to lose the least when you have the worst of it, win the most when you have the best of it. In the long term you will profit from other players mistakes (calling without odds, playing too many hands, bluffing without any fold equity ect).