Thinking about picking up poker again

• metalDays
      metalDays
      Bronze
      Hey everyone,
      I got into poker 2 years ago with the free 50. I got the basics down, got through Sklanski and Harrington but pretty much donked the 50.

Now Im thinking about picking it up again and play on poker stars. I would really like to improve cash game and get good. The problem is Im currently a student and dont have enough for the initial deposit. Do you think 50 will be enough ? :/
  • 12 replies
    • pleno1
      pleno1
      Coach
      Coach
      Hey,

Usually I would suggest having 30+ buy ins for a game type as a bankroll as variance can kick in an leave you broke. However at te lowest levels the standard is usually really bad meaning that you can get away with starting with a little less. In sure 25buy ins is a fine bankroll to start with for nl2.

Have you thought about playing hu sngs? You would g
      Have almost 50bis at the lowest levels and the competition is really soft and you very rarely find competent regulars and instead of a 6max table where you have to share the fish you get then all to yourself.

Playing hu you are involved in every single pot and this also means that you can work on an improve your basic fundamentals such as positional awareness, bet sizing, understanding game flow and reading board textures.

Either way whatever game type you choose in sure you can be successful. Ditch Harrington and slabsky and start from scratch with our education services which include hand evaluations, videos and articles.

Good luck
      Patrick
    • ThatGuyMatt
      ThatGuyMatt
      Bronze
      Hey there metalDays,

$50 is plenty to get you started, as pleno1 suggested you could play some HU SnG's or even 6Man/9Man SnG's which start at $1, giving you 50Bi's to keep you going. Even using your bankroll at NL2 you'd have 25Bi's, it mostly depends and what you want to play.