The good, the bad and the ugly: Mutterings of a newb

• Termi8r
      Termi8r
      Bronze
      Games: NL25 SSS, $5 SNG
      Bankroll: $200
      Claim to fame: Came second in local South African tourney cashing about $1250.

Hi everybody,

I am a physics student from South Africa….. and yes I’m addicted to poker too. I started playing poker in November last year and joined PS in February this year. Since then I concentrated on SSS with some success (meaning that I haven’t gone broke yet)

30k hands of SSS: (Good)
      Building my BR steadily on the NL10 tables to $150 then switched to NL25 were I’m at the moment. I believe that BRM is certainly the most valuable tip I received from this site since I’m not the luckiest poker player around (refer to the bad and the ugly sections). I had no major up or down swings on the NL10 tables, but the NL25 has been a real roller coaster ride. Up to $260 at one stage then down to $170 and then up again. Some days I should just take a break because nothing seems to go right. I remember at the beginning playing NL10 one table at a time… waiting an hour for a playable hand just to get busted. Since then I learned to multi table up to 6 six tables before my computer grinds to a halt. Mansion poker writes the stats in a very inefficient way to the hard drive. I used the trial version of Poker tracker and it was really interesting to plot the winnings and to discover leaks. Can’t wait to get 2000 Strategy points and for PS to sort out the bugs in Elephant. One leak I discovered was my PF aggression was only 0.5 because I called the SB when there was no raises in front of me. My AA’s I got like 40 times and 36 times they held up giving me the bulk of my winnings. AQ and AJ is bad news and I’m only about break even with them due to playing them out of position and wrong continuation bets. Learned my lesson! If you deviate from the SSS you might win on the short term but you’ll surely pay DONKEY TAX at some point.

SNG: (Bad)