Hi, I'm Jules

• jules97
      jules97
      Bronze
      Hey all,

My name is Julian, I'm from Australia.

I studied economics and computer science when I was younger and have been trading financial products since I was 18. For banks, funds and myself. I have done marketmaking, discretionary trading through to HFT. I'm currently doing some longer term macro stuff (dont get me started on the euro and EU :P ) which has given me some time to learn poker.

I have mainly traded index futures, but have traded almost every product out there from currencies,swaps & options to live hogs & wool!

I hurt my leg a few months ago, but before that I liked to keep active by running 4 times a week and doing some kind of exercise the days I'm not running. I think it's important mentally and physically to keep active and healthy. My leg is just about healed and I'm a little scared how low my fitness level has become and the pain I will have to endure when I start up again soon. haaha :D

My poker ability and knowledge is solidly in the beginner category, but I'm working through the resource you have here. Which I'm really happy I found. I recently decided I wanted to learn to get better at poker and I was worried about where to start to learn efficiently, but this sight looks very impressive and very useful for someone like me.

I think that I can transfer a lot of the skills (and painful and expensive lessons!) I've learnt from trading to poker and I hope they can speed up my learning. I plan to take learning to play poker profitably seriously and am writing up my plan and goals here. I'll continue to update them as I go. I really have no idea as far as some basic poker decisions go at the moment. But I'll trudge along and get there.

Nice to be here :)
  • 15 replies
    • BObamaJr
      BObamaJr
      Bronze