Introducing Someone new to Poker...

• mccol001
      mccol001
      Bronze
      So I have been playing poker for around 3 years, only seriously the last 1.5 - 2 years, my brother has also been playing for 1-2 years, we are both making profit (not much atm but it's always increasing). We are both very serious about poker and are hoping to do this long term.

Our third (oldest) brother has played a bit of poker like a year ago and seems to think there's nothing to it, he knows nothing about positioning, bet sizing, BRM, ranges, anything at all but seems to think he knows how to play poker well. When we say stuff to him about positioning he seems to think it doesn't matter. He has no idea how complex poker is, he thinks it's a simple ABC game... We just want him to sit down with us for a few hours whilst we try to explain more complex poker concepts but he won't listen... He is a typical fish.

It is incredibly frustrating to know what I know and then to hear him say this. Has anyone got any good suggestions to how I can convert him? Any videos/articles I can show him?

Sorry if something similar has been posted before, thanks. :)
  • 9 replies
    • Tomaloc
      Tomaloc
      Bronze
      there are ignorant fish and stubborn fish.

the difference is that ignorant fish just don't know better, and stubborn fish just don't want to know better.
    • mccol001
      mccol001
      Bronze
      Originally posted by Tomaloc
      there are ignorant fish and stubborn fish.

the difference is that ignorant fish just don't know better, and stubborn fish just don't want to know better.
      Guess he's pretty much a stubborn fish. :) He's actually quite clever though which is why I'm trying to get him into poker lol.
    • Tomaloc
      Tomaloc
      Bronze
      you may want to present him some hand histories in which you demonstrate some thought processes and turn out to be right. :f_biggrin:
    • mccol001
      mccol001
      Bronze