High ITM low earnings vs Low ITM high earnings

• Valsomething
      Valsomething
      Bronze
      Hi Fellow Poker Players;

I have a question that I hope many of you will comment on and give me your thoughts.

Quick intro - I have been playing NLHE part time since 2008 and consider myself a reasonable player maintaining ITM around 18%-21% and modest earnings. I am ITM more often than most players but rarely get deep into the tournament (only made the final table once in the thousands of large player tournaments I have played although I have won several small player tournaments).

One of the reason is that, I believe, the consequence of playing tight aggressive often gets you short stacked by being blinded down when your cards are not running so when you do get a decent hand and play (either initiating the bet or being bullied into playing) you run into players with bigger stacks who can take more gamble with lower odd cards and then out draw you.

More specifically, I FREQUENTLY come up against players who play stupidly and luck it - some that defies explaination. Most recently I was ITM at the low money levels. With a AK I raise pre flop and the "villian" reraises and I call. Flop is AK2. I bet, the villian reraises I reraise and the villian goes all in which I call after some considerable thought - the villian displays Q3 clubs (there was only 1 club on the flop) hits a runner runner club and I am out. On another I have AA, the villian raises preflop before me, I reraise, the villian reraises and I reraise and the villian goes all in which I call. The villian displays 35o and hits a 5 on the flop and turn to boot me off. I admit, these are extreme examples of stupidity but there are TOO many hands like this where I was out drawn by lower probability hands played by loose aggressive players to list here and booted off a tournament at the lower money levels to prevent me going deeper into the tourney.