foxicoxi

• foxicoxi
      foxicoxi
      Bronze
      Hi im sam

Ive been playing poker for about 6 months, having read a little strategy, decided i knew enough, and preceeded to loose a lot of money at the tables. As a result Im taking a step back, as i do enjoy poker and would rather it not keep taking chunks out of my wallet.

Ps. that nickname was given me by a very annoyin mate, if i thought ahead and realized others would see id have picked something less pretencious.
  • 9 replies
    • foxicoxi
      foxicoxi
      Bronze
      I had a quick flick through the articles, as ive already read them ages ago. Ive also watched the video, and now watching the coaching vid.

What is your motivation for playing poker?

I started playing out of curiosity and boredom, but found I enjoyed playing, especially the psychological and mathematical aspects. Of course part of me wanted to earn some dough, but I kept trying to get rich quick such as entering tourneys, failing, then quitting. Having coming back to the game again and again, ive realised that id rather take my time and play properly.

What are your weaknesses when playing poker?

Mostly tilt. I keep concentrating on earning back lost money, and raising the stakes to compensate. I also suffer from insomnia and tend to drink a lot so I should learn to limit when to play. When in a game, I could do with concentrating more, bluffing less, and stop making unjustified assumptions.

What does it mean to play tight aggressive?

TAG means limiting play to the best hands only, and playing offensively when they do occur. In theory this works because on a long enough timeline, the style is statistically profitable, playing the best hands and bringing in the most money. I find it can be quite predictable though, and when you do finally play aggressively, everyone knows you’ve got good cards.
    • foxicoxi
      foxicoxi
      Bronze