Small PP bet or limp Preflop?

• canniballsy
      canniballsy
      Bronze
      Hi,
      I stumbled across the basic quiz and was taking them for fun!
      One question asked me what would I do with 22 UTG preflop(in a 6handed table)
      ..should I limp, fold or bet?
      Well I ticked limp and got a 0 :( I shouldve bet...
      but I cross checked with the starting preflop handschart from the basic learning strategy lessons, I found out that from MPs, you limp rather than raise.
      Even tho that lesson was for FR table, but if you discard 4 sits, you are sitting in the UTG (which is really a MP in a FR table). So, what am I supposed to get from the contradictory statements. the strategy asks to limp, the quiz asks to bet.
  • 7 replies
    • RasTweet
      RasTweet
      Bronze
      Hi Canniballsy!

I'm not a professional poker player but here I go.

In a shorthanded game you just never limp. Limping is very weak and very exploitable. When playing nl2 FR it's not a problem to limp those small pp, but in shorthanded it's just not profitable anymore.

I see also found the starting hands chart for the full ring tables. In shorthanded games though we don't use that starting hands chart anymore, but rather a open raising chart.

You can find the starting hands chart in this article.

You might find this article interesting as well. It's about the short handed theory.

Thats it in a nutshell, but I'm sure more people will reply and give you tons of reasons not to open limp!

Best of luck on the tables!

RasTweet
    • DoigteurFou
      DoigteurFou
      Bronze
      Openlimping in SH is a poor idea if you don't know what you are doing.
      Think about it:
      you can get isolated by someone who is in position and you will fold very often to a Cbet.
      if everyone folds, you will have a very hard to play hand vs the big blind who has a range of 100% (okay, less since he might raise some hands, but you have the idea).

Both these situations are EV-.