Starting Over

• SecurityDrew
      SecurityDrew
      Bronze
      I need a change. So I am going back to the beginning and starting over.

Homework

I play poker as a hobby. Being an engineer, I like the math. I like discussions about poker theory and why doing one thing is more correct than another. I also play because it helps pay for the family vacations! in the last year or so, my game has been really off. So I thought I would go back to BSS and do it from the beginning. Let's see how it goes.

I can be tilty. Playing at the microstakes means running into really bad play. Sometimes when I run into a couple of bad suckouts, or horrible plays I can start to spew a bit. I am getting better, and am learning to walk away for a while if a session is going bad. My biggest leak is TP/TK. I need to fold more to river bets when draws hit.

Being a TAG means never limping. If you are coming in first you raise. You play you made hands aggressively as the situation dictates. You call in spots with good implied odds, but let it go if the flop does not connect with your hand. when faced with the options of fold, call or raise, the TAG is more often raising because that's the way you can win more pots. Being a TAG works since most players at the table are passive. They are playing hit to win poker. this means 2/3 of the time they do not connect with the flop, and unless they had a monster starting hand they will fold to any bet. A TAG will constantly put pressure on other players to make decisions about staying in a hand knowing that they will often be facing a good hand that will be betting and raising. Just the image of a TAG makes players with a HUD not want to get involved with you because you have that HM eagle icon next to you description. This makes the TAG the most profitable player type.

I attended my first BSS coaching yesterday. It was a hand review and it was great since no one else was posting hands, so I got about 6 of my hands reviewed.