What should i play?

• NewKid354
      Hi all,

Firstly apologies if this is posted in the wrong place.

I have just started playing poker again after taking a break whilst studying at university. I was never good before and haven't a huge amount of experience. However, I am keen to learn and want to become a better player.

Currently I play micros as my bankroll is pretty minimal. At the moment I am playing MTT on Pokerstars, buy ins $0.55, $1 or $2. The $2 is out of the recommended bankroll management level I know.

I have done ok since restarting, making the last 50 twice in tournaments with over 2000 entrants. However, I want to improve my consistency and hopefully develop a stack where I can go on and make a final table. I know that there is going to be variance and that I cant cash/win every tournament.

I am looking for tips on what games to play (prefer tournaments) and also how to improve and also build a bankroll.

Originally I started playing for fun but I have a huge competitive streak and don't want to play anything not to my best. Have read the articles on the site and on other forums and also 'Small stakes hold 'em' by malmuth and sklansky.

Apologies for the length of this and also the seeming ramble. I am basically looking for advice.

Thanks for all responses.
  • 4 replies
    • TinoLaan
      The $2 is out of the recommended bankroll management level I know.
      It's all about average buy-ins (ABI). As long as your ABI is within your bankroll, you should be perfectly fine :)

If you want to play MTTs, a good way to start building your BR is to play the 180 man tournaments. There are some pretty good videos on taking on these tournaments as well in the video section: http://www.pokerstrategy.com/video/#searchtext=180man&key=all&contenttype=0&gametype=8&tablesize=0&languages=en&levels=basic,bronze,silver,gold,platinum,diamond&lowerlimit=0&upperlimit=100&ob=date&od=desc&page=1&rpp=10