Problems in winning "part-time"

• Rahica
      Rahica
      Bronze
      Hello ! I am an amateur poker player, for the moment playing NL10 Fast Poker in Titan and Pokerstars Zoom Poker.. I have pretty good results confirmed by the specialized tracking player websites in Sit&Go, Heads Up and MTT small limits with the username "Lakatherinka". In the cash games NL5 and NL10 I am doing pretty well also.
      Most of the times I am very happy with the way I'm playing in the cash game sessions. The big problem is that sometimes, I don't manage to concentrate fully. I don't know if it's overconfidence, tiredness or lack of patience or concentration but I just find myself not thinking like I normally do some hands during a session.
      I usually play TAG style in Fast Poker and play small sessions like 300 hands after which I have an average profit of 3 extra buy-ins.
      Normally when I play before going to work I manage to do it all like planned. When I'm coming from work the bad sessions start ( I work in the night time and I get back home at 4-5 o'clock in the morning, finding an average 20 players online in this time, over 50% rag players ).
      Need some help to understand why most of the times I manage to play by the book, but sometimes I just can't concentrate and manage to blow my stack away with marginal hands like A6, which I usually don't play. Thank you anticipated ! Cheers !
  • 12 replies
    • VorpalF2F
      VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator
      Super Moderator
      Well, I'm pretty sure that you don't want to hear this, but the short answer is "variance".

First of all, I'm massively impressed that you average 3BI profit in 300-hand sessions.

If you are used to such winrates, it makes sense that you would be devastated by a losing session.

One thing I notice in your post is,