Paul's Micro Stakes Cash Adventure

• pauln
      pauln
      Bronze
      Hi all,

I'm Paul, I'm 23 and from the UK.

I started playing poker in 2010 whilst at university. Playing in the weekly university league really inspired me to study poker. I started playing 3-4 nights a week at various pubs around the city, applying what I was studying and becoming more solid. Although much of the opposition were fishy, it taught me valuable lessons on dealing with ridiculous aggression and being patient. The most important skill I gained from it is being 99.9% immune to tilt.

Up until this point my goal has always been to break even but learn as much as possible. I originally started playing poker for the intellectual stimulation rather than the $, whilst this is still definitely a factor, I want to start showing some return for the time I'm putting into poker.

Until late 2014 I played SNGs and got up to the $7 level. I met loads of great people and enjoyed SNGs but eventually needed something different and switched to cash.

Time for some new goals

Long Term Poker Goals

:club: Firm up my 6 max fundamentals. Get to NL10

:club: Meet some 6 max cash players.

:club: Become a poker coach - I have been coaching multiple SNG players for the last couple of months. I find the process improves my own game and I find the experience very rewarding. I'd like to offer basic SNG coaching and move over to cash coaching when I have the knowledge. Eventually I'd like to do this publicly along side playing.

I am balancing poker alongside starting a business as a freelance web consultant/designer.
      I am an aspiring musician and producer.
      I am in the first stages of becoming a football coach with the dream goal of becoming a manager.

Thanks for reading. Tips and constructive criticism are always welcome and never taken the wrong way. Also if anyone wants to chat poker, feel free to add me on here and we can exchange contact details.

• 176 replies
    • ratje2000