deviation from MSS

• zedkay
      zedkay
      Bronze
      Hi all, I just started playing poker and also using MSS on poker 770.

In reading the posts here, it looks like people are deviating from the instructions and I am wondering under which circumstances this is done?
  • 4 replies
    • JohnDoe1313
      JohnDoe1313
      Diamond
      Hello,

we don't deviate from MSS ;) We mostly deviate from starting hands chart.

SHC doesn't take into account many factors. If you see a profitable situation which is not in the chart, you can deviate. But you have to have reads or stats for that.

Let me show you a simple example:

Party, $0.05/$0.10 No Limit Hold'em Cash, 6 Players
      Poker Tools Powered By Holdem Manager - The Ultimate Poker Software Suite.

Hero (BTN): $3.55 (35.5 bb)
      UTG: $13 (130 bb)
      SB: $2.80 (28 bb) - VPIP: 11, PFR: 10, 3B: 5, AF: 4.0, Hands: 155
      BB: $2.65 (26.5 bb) - VPIP: 8, PFR: 8, 3B: 0, AF: 0.0, Hands: 40
      CO: $13.28 (132.8 bb)
      MP: $14.92 (149.2 bb)

Preflop: Hero is BTN with 8 9
      3 folds, Hero raises to $0.25, 2 folds

Results:
      $0.25 pot
      Hero mucked 8 9 and won $0.25 ($0.15 net)

There are two shortstacks in the blind. Both are very tight. I'm raising this hand despite it's not in SHC, because I get their blinds very often. If they defend, I can simply give up. Also, I didn't use standart 3bb sizing. The reason is if they defend, they'll 3bet me (= not coldcall) most of the time so I make my steal cheaper for me.

Hopefully it makes sense to you. You have to just observe the table and pick your spot. As your experience grows, you will be able to notice this kind of spots more often.
    • zedkay
      zedkay
      Bronze
      Thanks, so how would I know that the 8,9s that you used was worth using?

I see all kinds of references to good and bad starting hands, but aside from the SHC I don't have a way of deciding.