Downswing

• PoulH
      PoulH
      Bronze
      Hi there

I have joined PS for about a month ago and really enjoy the site and all the possilibilites.

My name is Poul and I'm from Denmark - I am a loosing player and I want to change that. I have been playing online poker for 2-3 years.

So, when you guys are on a downswing do you tend to take a break or ride it out?
  • 9 replies
    • Maloco87
      Maloco87
      Bronze
      I think you have to ride it out most of the time but it wouldn't hurt to take a bit of time off and study the articles here on PS maybe going back to the basics and so on will help you refocus your game
    • jonnyjm
      jonnyjm
      Bronze
      Didn't think there was such a thing as a "DOWNswing" if you are a losing player....
    • ghaleon
      ghaleon
      Black
      Originally posted by PoulH
      So, when you guys are on a downswing do you tend to take a break or ride it out?
      Most important question is how does downswing affect you? Can you play your A-game after few bad beats or setups? If you feel your game level does not suffer you can continue playing.

It is good idea to keep following your game as you play to quickly notice if you go into "tilt". If you do notice to do bad plays it is best to stop the session. Take some time off and analyze hands later on. Obviously use time to study whatever you run good or not :)
    • MatejM47
      MatejM47
      Black
      Originally posted by jonnyjm
      Didn't think there was such a thing as a "DOWNswing" if you are a losing player....
      And winning players don't have UPswings.

As for what we do it really doesn't matter. What matters is how the downswing is effects you and if your no longer able to play your best or start monkey tilting you should obv take a break. If not feel free to ride it out.
    • DrDunne
      DrDunne
      Bronze