Some strange NL rule

    • tzveti
      tzveti
      Bronze
      Joined: 28.03.2008 Posts: 210
      Ok, this happens quite a lot at mansion, and it kinda pisses me off-

      Texas Hold'em NL30 (10 handed)

      Preflop: Hero is MP1 with A:heart: , A:spade:
      UTG raises to $1.00, UTG+1 calls $1.00, UTG+2 folds, Hero raises to $4.50, 2 folds, CO calls $4.50, 3 folds, UTG calls $3.50, UTG+1 raises to $7.00 (All-in), Hero calls $2.50
      Here I cant reraise myself, only call or fold, and Im giving the other guys great odds to call.... Does it exist only at mansion , or is it a general rule and how it applies ?

      , CO calls $2.50, UTG calls $2.50.
  • 9 replies
    • Vargan
      Vargan
      Bronze
      Joined: 07.03.2008 Posts: 565
      Originally posted by tzveti
      Ok, this happens quite a lot at mansion, and it kinda pisses me off-

      Texas Hold'em NL30 (10 handed)

      Preflop: Hero is MP1 with A:heart: , A:spade:
      UTG raises to $1.00, UTG+1 calls $1.00, UTG+2 folds, Hero raises to $4.50, 2 folds, CO calls $4.50, 3 folds, UTG calls $3.50, UTG+1 raises to $7.00 (All-in), Hero calls $2.50
      Here I cant reraise myself, only call or fold, and Im giving the other guys great odds to call.... Does it exist only at mansion , or is it a general rule and how it applies ?

      , CO calls $2.50, UTG calls $2.50.
      If you have more juice in your stack you should be able to chose between "call" or reraise/go all in yourself.
    • tzveti
      tzveti
      Bronze
      Joined: 28.03.2008 Posts: 210
      Ofc I do, Im playing fullstacked. But in those situations, you have some kind of cap, which is pretty suxxy.
    • HeliumPower
      HeliumPower
      Bronze
      Joined: 12.04.2008 Posts: 5
      I think the limit is not on how much you can raise but on how many raises there can be.

      1st -> Raise from UTG ($1)
      2nd -> Hero Raise ($4.5)
      3rd -> UTG+1 ($7)

      So if you raised again it would be a 4th raise in the same betting round. I'm not sure if this is a strict rule or if it is casino related. Hopefully someone here will know better.

      Cheers.
    • SonicXT
      SonicXT
      Bronze
      Joined: 15.06.2007 Posts: 4,736
      UTG+1 didn't reraise the minimum necessary for it to count as a reraise. You can also reraise a push if the size of the raise caused by the push is more than the size of the raise before that (or more than 1BB in case no one raised)
      So you could only reraise him if he had 8 $ left to push with...

      Remember that, sometimes it gets you in crappy crowded situations.
    • tzveti
      tzveti
      Bronze
      Joined: 28.03.2008 Posts: 210
      @Helium - no, I've seen people minraising themselves till they go all in, there is no limit of raises.
      @SOnicXT - that must be it, but I still dont get it, his shove here counts as a "call",as he doesnt have the minimum to reraise, so we dont have the option to reraise, but complete to his "call"?
    • SonicXT
      SonicXT
      Bronze
      Joined: 15.06.2007 Posts: 4,736
      Any raise less than than the previous raise counts as a call, yes.
      It's confusing, but it's the rules.
      It's probably to prevent you from betting his stack minus cent, where the player in between has a choice of calling or reraising big where he'd like to call and the shortstacked one will obviously push his extra cent given you the opportunity to raise again f'ing the one in the middle over.
    • chenny8888
      chenny8888
      Bronze
      Joined: 03.10.2007 Posts: 19,324
      sonic's right.

      btw this is/should be the rule everywhere!
    • tzveti
      tzveti
      Bronze
      Joined: 28.03.2008 Posts: 210
      Thanks a lot guys!
    • SoyCD
      SoyCD
      Bronze
      Joined: 20.02.2008 Posts: 6,356
      Originally posted by chenny8888
      sonic's right.

      btw this is/should be the rule everywhere!
      Yep its not only this way in Mansion but all other Poker sites as well. If a re-raise isn't enough to qualify as a min-raise you can only call it - but not re-raise afterwards.