When to cash out ?

• thesundancekid
      thesundancekid
      Bronze
      Hey guys, would like to hear your thoughts in when to cash out..?..

I've been playing professionally for around a couple months now,
      I just play tournaments, I know all about BRM which I do use of course, but I do take the odd gamble and maybe play 1 or 2 or 3 games out with roll.

Basically recently , I was planning to make over 2k and then cash out anything I make over, buy my roll due to variance can be a bit of a yo yo.

so im thinking now whatever I win , well anything decent , take out half and keep half ????

Also was chatting to a m8 who also plays for a living , he told me he takes out anything over $500's and just keeps playing $11 etc , which sounds like a good plan, but I like $22 deep stacks and shit, so I might still try to get that target of 2k then cash out anything over I dunno, or WIN take out half leave half ...

was just wondering what you guys do ???????
  • 8 replies
    • DeMarcohsp
      DeMarcohsp
      Bronze
      First of all, don't play the 22$.
    • ExternalUseOnly
      ExternalUseOnly
      Bronze
      Hey there,

So is poker your sole income then? If so, i think you need to sit down and work out how much money you need each month or whatever. Before you turned pro did you save enough money to live off for a few months incase things get rough? Because if you have some sick downswing for 2-3 months what will you live off then? How will you continue to play the stakes that can sustain the income you need. I'm sure you worked all this out beforehand though :)