Floated - how to react?

• pblankfield
      pblankfield
      Bronze
      Hi

I'm quite new to the internet poker world. So far I've been rather succesfull in Stars 0,50$ MTTSNGs (45% ROI after 400 games) playing mostly my cards in a stardard TAG fashion and standard PoF. Works like a charm :f_biggrin:

I recently moved up to play 1$50 45s MTTSNGs on Pokerstars and generally things are shaping allright except that I found that my c-bets efficency is waaay lower and I start to think that I'm getting floated VERY often.

Unfortunately I don't have access to the gold status strategy article, so I turn to you for help. I'm at work now so cannot give you a HH example but it boils down to something like that:

On lowish blind levels (20-30-50) I raise preflop with a decent hand, say AJo and get one caller. The flop comes as xxK. Obviously i cbet here, standard 50% pot ang get called. Turn brings another blank. Most of the times I tend to c/f here. I have found that this happen WAY to often and I can risk to say that at least 75% of the times I must be ahead.

What are my options and what is, in your opinion the best general approach to this kind of situations?

- r/f systematically (2nd barrel, around 80% of the pot) with the intention of c/f the river?
      - c/r and fold to any agression on the river?
      - or is it better to play the hand diffrently on the flop with a c/r instead of c-bet and place a delayed c-bet on turn in case of c/c?

Thx
  • 4 replies
    • abhi147
      abhi147
      Bronze
      That is why you don't play AJo except in co or Btn at early levels or unless you have really good post flip skills
      If you have position over him you can always bet 1/2 pot on turn and most probably you can check back on the river