so pissed im totally unmotivated now

• tommygecko
      tommygecko
      Bronze
      had such a bad day at everest today lost 7.70 at NL2 lost all the money i have earned the last week suddenly i feel like quitting poker :(

man this guy open raises with J3s, i had AA on the button i 3 betted and he calls. man who calls 3 bets with J3s. and the flop came J 8 3. oh my god. turn and river came 7 5, man maybe i should have folded his shove but i'm still pissed.

lost another AA. i flopped a set but villain flopped a straight with 35s. lost another buy in here ;(

had many other monsters here and there but i lost most of them :( and once i had AA on bb but everyone folded before me. first time this happens on that table today and i have AA :(

I'm quite new to poker (played barely a month) I'm still playing with the free $50. I'm still young and I really hope i can make online poker my second job in the future. I know in poker there are massive downswings like this but how do you guys handle them without affecting your poker career. I know it's all about patience and discipline to recover such losses but it's so hard for me to get the bad streak of my mind. Should I play less and study more? Initially I wanted to build my bankroll fast but with such downswings happening maybe i should slow down?

Also if my bankroll has less than 50BIs for NL2 should I still buy in for $2? or a smaller amount like 5% of my bankroll and play SSS or MSS until I have 50 BIs?
  • 14 replies
    • Rufus433
      Rufus433
      Platinum
      Read articles and watch videos @ pokerstrategy, you need to study the game more than you play it, swings are part of poker, you need to learn how to deal with them. Bigger the stakes you play, bigger the swings.
    • metza
      metza
      Bronze
      The first time I hit a downswing I was so tilted, and didn't realize how much money I was losing through spewy tilt play as well.