[NL2-NL10] Nl25 FR AQo. Was the pot too big to fold?

    • Cersei
      Cersei
      Bronze
      Joined: 12.04.2008 Posts: 29
      Ok, I tried moving up to NL25 for a couple of hours this evening. I broke even. This hand has me a bit perplexed though.

      I've got nothing on the flop but I'm against one opponent so I make a Cbet but instead of calling, he re-raises me. I had no reads on my opponent as I'd only just arrived at the table but I looked at the size of the pot after his re-raise which was $8.15 and thought it was too big a pot to fold.

      So I moved all-in. I was fully expecting to be beat and then he folds on me. Did I make the right move though?

      Party Poker, $0.10/$0.25 NL Hold'em Cash Game, 9 Players
      Hand History Converter by Stoxpoker

      MP3: $4.30 (17.2 bb)
      CO: $15.27 (61.1 bb)
      BTN: $26.69 (106.8 bb)
      Hero (SB): $5.56 (22.2 bb)
      BB: $65.32 (261.3 bb)
      UTG+1: $25 (100 bb)
      UTG+2: $25.03 (100.1 bb)
      MP1: $32.20 (128.8 bb)
      MP2: $31.04 (124.2 bb)

      Pre-Flop: Hero is SB with A
      UTG+1 folds, UTG+2 calls $0.25, 5 folds, Hero raises to $1.25, BB folds, UTG+2 calls $1

      Flop: ($2.75) K (2 players)
      Hero bets $1.80, UTG+2 raises to $3.60, Hero raises to $4.31 and is all-in, UTG+2 folds

      Results (listed below in white, highlight to see): $9.95 pot ($0.49 rake)
      Hero mucked Ah Qs (high card Ace) and won $9.46 ($4.61 net)
  • 6 replies
    • DeKuip
      DeKuip
      Bronze
      Joined: 07.03.2008 Posts: 10,966
      You should fold when your cbet is being raised.
      His move is kinda strange, but you already figured that out I think :D
    • Cersei
      Cersei
      Bronze
      Joined: 12.04.2008 Posts: 29
      Thanks for the reply.

      So even though I have less than half the pot left in my stack, I should fold a trash hand when re-raised? lol. That's the only reason I went all-in. If the pot wasn't so big in comparison to my stack , I would've folded right away. At the time I thought I was beat but when replaying it in pokertracker I just thought, "Would he not just call if he hit the flop?"
    • DeKuip
      DeKuip
      Bronze
      Joined: 07.03.2008 Posts: 10,966
      Let's just rule out all the cards and stuff, I'll simplify your hand:

      To make it easy, your stack is 20BB, Villain has 100BB.

      There is a limper (1BB), you raise to 5BB and get called bij Villain for 5BB, the rest folds including the big blind.

      So the pot is 12BB and your stack is 15BB.

      You make a standard cbet, which is 8BB (2/3 pot), while Villain pushes all-in.
      The pot now is 12BB + 8BB (your bet) + 15BB (Villains push and the max you can call) = 35BB.

      You'll only have to pay 7BB for a 35BB pot.
      That situation occurs most of the times.

      But if this means that you can call the 7BB to win a 35BB pot, you could as well move in any flop, since you couldn't be able to fold any reraise.

      I hope you get my point a bit.

      It always looks tempting to call because the pot is so big.
      But that's actually always the case in these kind of situations.

      So looking at the pot : stack ratio isn't gonna work here.

      That's why you should fold a reraise :)
    • Cersei
      Cersei
      Bronze
      Joined: 12.04.2008 Posts: 29
      Ok thanks
    • DeKuip
      DeKuip
      Bronze
      Joined: 07.03.2008 Posts: 10,966
      Originally posted by Cersei
      Ok thanks
      Oh and btw, don't shoot me if I'm wrong with what I wrote above :D

      That's just what I think, the judges might disagree with me.
    • 098799
      098799
      Bronze
      Joined: 23.07.2007 Posts: 1,245
      Hey Cersei,

      DeKuip explained it in a perfect way. No other thing to do on the flop, but bet/fold. When playing bet/call you're practically bluffcalling (you have nothing) which is rather not profitable situation.

      Btw. congratulations on climbing up in limits ;) . Hope to see you at NL100 and higher.