Back to the Beginning

• bennisboy
      bennisboy
      Silver
      Skip to page 3 for the reboot

For the last twelve months, I had been living my dream. I graduated from university in the spring of 2011 and that same summer, secured a job working on wall street. I'd always dreamed of living in the USA, and now I'd finally found my opportunity. I seized it with both hands, packing my life in to two bugling suitcases and headed for the big apple.

Of course, after Black Monday, online poker is no longer legal in USA. So I withdrew what I could to my neteller account in order to safeguard against any more sites being shut down, and off I went.

I won't reveal everything that has happened in this past year, but I might tell some of my adventures when the poker talk in my blog slows down. There are some real gems, and just thinking about them now makes me laugh.

You may be wondering why I'm starting a poker blog if I'm living in the USA. Well unfortunately, my time in the USA was cut short. I originally moved here on a “training” visa, also known as a J-1 visa, used for “cultural exchange”.

I've worked my nuts off from 7am to 6pm everyday, and partied like a mad man every weekend. I figured I was in great shape to convert my role to a full-time position. Sure enough, one day, my boss asks me to come and see him before I leave. So we sit down and we start discussing what I wanted to gain from my current role. I told him I was looking to stay over here full time and would like to stay on at the bank.