bennisboy

• 8 replies
    • bennisboy
      bennisboy
      Bronze
      What is your motivation for playing poker?
      To give me something to take my mind off a tedious job hunt, and use it to improve my rationalisation and decision making skills, while making some pocket money on the side.

What are your weaknesses when playing poker?
      I play when tired, but that is because I'm still recovering from jet lag. Previously I was a student, so always tired. I also have trouble letting a hand go, i.e. I try to bluff a bit too much. Not outrageous bluffs, but probably too many 2-barrel cbets. I don't think I get to showdown often enough with hands that have showdown value, but can't stand up to big pots

What does it mean to play tight aggressive?
      Playing TAG means picking your spots to play well, and taking the initiative in those spots. You play very tight in EP and loosen up as you move towards the BU.

You play aggressively, without limping, and keep the pressure on opponents making them make tough decisions. When you enter a pot, you do so when you are able to raise.
    • bennisboy
      bennisboy
      Bronze
      What do you think you could play differently than suggested in the BSS Starting Hands Chart and why?

Looking at the starting hands chart, it appears to be geared to FR rather than the more aggressive 6max. In SH, I would play AK more aggressively against a raise behind, Most likely a 4bet to try to take the pot down preflop.

I also feel that QQ/JJ do not need to be folded to a 3b in SH, I would quite happily 4b them due to the loser nature and wider range of most SH players

Do you have questions about your preflop play? Post your hand for evaluation.

NL5 JJ Speedpoker

What is the equity of AKo against the top 5% range? 5% means 88+, AJs+, KQs, AKo.
      46%
      This is almost a coinflip, but would be a slightly losing long-run play in the long run
    • bennisboy
      bennisboy
      Bronze