Where to start on Heads-Up?

• noz03
      noz03
      Bronze
      I've played cash games and SNGs with reasonable returns, at least in the micros. And now its time to give heads up a try! But to me this is the most confusing game type of holdem, does anyone have any advice for a complete, and I really mean COMPLETE beginner?

I especially need to know what kind of opening, calling and 3bet ranges to use as a base. What kind of hands to bluff and how often to bluff. And of course how to adjust all these things depending on the opponent!

Also if there are any heads up beginners articles or videos around anywhere that I might have missed please let me know!

Thanks for any advice anyone can give to get me started out there :)
  • 6 replies
    • ExternalUseOnly
      ExternalUseOnly
      Bronze
      Hey i just answered in your other thread, pretty much what i would have wrote here take a look see what you think :)
    • pleno1
      pleno1
      Coach
      Coach
      Hey noz03,

What kind of bankroll are we looking at here? Rake is a huge factor for heads up, its literally impossible to beat the game if we start at micro stakes. For HU Cash we should start at NL50 at the very minimum and perhaps even 100nl because its extremely hard to beat the rake.

For SNG's the variance is VERY low meaning we can be aggressive with brm, having 20bi's for HU SNG's is fine as long as you move up and down without tilting.

For SNG's here are two videos, concentrating on playing in both the small and big blinds, you can watch them for free :)

Small Blind play http://www.pokerstrategy.com/video/24542/
      Big Blind play http://www.pokerstrategy.com/video/23899/

Let me know :)
    • noz03
      noz03
      Bronze