This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

[NL2-NL10] nl4 AQs

    • xero100
      xero100
      Bronze
      Joined: 06.08.2009 Posts: 1,355
      Grabbed by Holdem Manager
      NL Holdem $0.04(BB) Replayer
      SB ($3.85)
      BB ($7.10)
      UTG ($0.32)
      CO ($4.07)
      Hero ($4.61)

      Dealt to Hero Q:spade: A:spade:

      fold, fold, Hero raises to $0.08, SB raises to $0.12, BB calls $0.08, Hero calls $0.04

      FLOP ($0.36) 2:club: 3:club: Q:heart:

      SB bets $0.36, BB folds, Hero calls $0.36

      TURN ($1.08) 2:club: 3:club: Q:heart: 7:diamond:
      no info
      SB bets $1.08, Hero calls $1.08

      RIVER ($3.24) 2:club: 3:club: Q:heart: 7:diamond: 7:spade:

      SB checks, Hero bets $3.05 (AI), SB calls $2.29 (AI)
  • 4 replies
    • awishformore
      awishformore
      Bronze
      Joined: 16.06.2007 Posts: 922
      With normal bet-sizing this would be a close spot; he could easily make normal bets with QJ/KQ/AQ, even rarely QX here.

      However, with his two pot-sized bets, I think you can safely assume he's either on a monster with AA/KK/QQ, or sometimes, he's maybe on 22/33.

      I thus don't think there is any value in shoving the river, the only hand I see calling sometimes is KQ, and then AQ for split. They are however unlikely and AA/KK/QQ will always snap you. JJ- would probably not bet like that and will fold to river shove anyway.
    • veriz
      veriz
      Black
      Joined: 20.07.2008 Posts: 65,504
      Hello xero100,

      Rather ship the turn to protect your hand instead of calling and shipping the river.

      Best Regards.
    • awishformore
      awishformore
      Bronze
      Joined: 16.06.2007 Posts: 922
      Ship the turn to throw away $3? Protect against what? His range is mostly monsters, not draws.
    • veriz
      veriz
      Black
      Joined: 20.07.2008 Posts: 65,504
      Originally posted by awishformore
      Ship the turn to throw away $3? Protect against what? His range is mostly monsters, not draws.
      Why would you Call the turn then to plan to fold the river? :D Wouldn't really make sense and we can never-ever exclude draws from his range.