• OoT4NKoO
      I'm not technically a beginner but as I explained in my post on the welcome board (which I've added at the bottom) I am taking things back to basics with the theory side of poker in hope it will in turn make me a profitable online poker player. I will be using this thread quite a lot over the next few months and any advice and feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Post from "Introduce Yourself" thread.

Good afternoon all,

I'm 24 years old, British and a recreational poker player. I've been playing live poker now for about 5 years and online for about 3 years, with varied success. If I had to add up all my winnings and losings live and online I should imagine I'd be around evens or slightly down. I think my biggest troubles are poor bankroll management, too much game variance (both buy-in and game type) and tilt. However this only seems to be online, which is where I have lost a large percentage of my money.

Hopefully this will all change over the next year or so, I have decided not to play for real money for the rest of this year (apart from my Friday night home game once a fortnight) and to concentrate on the theory side of poker as I have never really read anything about poker apart from Colin Moshman's sit n go strategy. I have copied all relevant articles from the sit n go and cash games sections from this site into one document which I am planning to work my way through over the next few months (nearly a thousand pages). I am also planning on working my way through the fantastic videos on this site, which from what I have seen look like they are going to help me no end. By not playing until next year I will also be-able to have enough information on bankroll management and will have a good idea of what amount of $'s I need to play at the level I want.